Determining Distances from Photographs

Discussions about the history of the ship, technical details, etc.

Moderator: Bill Jurens

Robert J. Winklareth
-

Determining Distances from Photographs

Post by Robert J. Winklareth »

Hi all,

There have been various attempts to determine the distance between the Bismarck and the Prinz Eugen from a photograph by geometric means without much success. You can determine the distance from a certain level on a ship to an imaginary horizon or the distance to another ship is visible beyond the horizon, but not the distance to a ship in front of the horizon. There are just no formulae in circular or spherical geometry to enable this to be done. Other geometric techniques also have not been productive

Having been a serious photographer for over 50 years, I studied the issue for some time now, and I finally came up with a procedure to determine the distance to another ship from a photograph. The procedure is not unique, and it could have been derived by anyone with an understanding of photographic optics, but I have not seen it presented before, and I would like to share it with you.

The procedure, however, is dependent upon three factors:

a. The angle of view of the lens used in taking the picture must be known.

b. The photograph must include the total image captured on the negative and not be cropped.

c. The photograph must include a measurable item whose dimensions are known.

Although its development was somewhat involved, the procedure itself is actually quite simple. You first measure the diagonal of the exposed portion of the photograph and then you measure the size of an object of known dimensions within the photograph, such as the height of the tower mast of the Bismarck above sea level. You then multiply that ratio by the actual size of the chosen object (37 yards for the tower mast of the Bismarck). That gives you a tentative distance that still has to be refined.