Richter on the Bismarck

Anything about the crew, families, origins, etc.
Leatherneck

Richter on the Bismarck

Post by Leatherneck »

I'm looking for a great-uncle, last name of Richter, who served on the Bismarck

My Grandfather, Kurt Walter Richter, had five brothers.

My father says one of these served on the Bismarck - There are several Richters listed on the manifest.
My father says he (my grandfather's brother survived the sinking) - This conflicts with the survivors list.

Additional information. Although my father does not know the first name of this Richter, he tells me that he was a veterinarian by profession serving as a medical officer on the ship. My father tells me that after the sinking he was held prisoner in Canada for the rest of the war, later repatriated, and then died a few years later. My grandfather was the only surviving member of his family and he would never talk about the war before he passed.

It is possible that this Richter on the Bismarck was confused with another brother in the Kriegsmarine, who served on a merchant raider - also sunk. So, he may nto be one of the survivors.

Two of the brothers were in the Luftwaffe and were killed in Russia and I don't know about the fifth. My grandfather survived because he emigrated to the US in the 1920s with his then Swiss fiancé (my grandmother).

Otto Richter - Great-grandfather and Prussian military officer WWI
Sons
Richter - oldest, did not survive war, Nazi party member, no further info
Richter - Luftwaffe, JU pilot, killed in Russia
Richter - Luftwaffe, JU pilot, killed in Russia
Richter - Kriegsmarine, killed when ship was sunk?
Richter - Bismarck, survived?
Richter - youngest, Kurt W. Sr., emigrated to US in 1920s

Richter - Kurt W. Jr., my father, served in US 1st Inf Div in WWII, interrogator for German POWs.

Richter - myself, US Marine artillery officer
RF

Re: Richter on the Bismarck

Post by RF »

Leatherneck wrote: