Bismarck Alternate Propulsion

Propulsion systems, machinery, turbines, boilers, propellers, fuel consumption, etc.
Rockeye

Bismarck Alternate Propulsion

Post by Rockeye »

Hi All,

This is my first time posting on the forum but I have been a long time follower and am interested to hear your feedback. I have seen several posts suggesting that the Germans should have used diesel engines in their capital ships as opposed to high pressure/temperature steam in order to increase their operational range. This was rejected due to both weight issues and the fact that there were no diesel plants available with sufficient power.

My question is could the Germans have improved on the historical range of their steam plants by using double reduction gearing as suggested by Garke and Dulin in their book or possibly by using something more exotic like the American turbo-electric drive units or the Föttinger gears used in the WWI battlecruiser Fürst Bismarck? Likewise how significant of a range increase could be expected.

Thanks for your replies

Rockeye
RF

Re: Bismarck Alternate Propulsion

Post by RF »

The Germans had drveloped powerful diesel engines for the Panzerschiffe in the early 1930's so there was some time to develop the level of technology required for battleship sized engine power. Maybe the development of the Hipper class cruisers was a diversion from this in the sense that alternatively an upgraded version of the Panzerschiffe could have been constructed, paving the way for a further up grade to battleship level. Time would be needed for these developments along with more focussed planning - time which the KM didn't have unless the process started immediately around the time AGS came into service..
''Give me a Ping and one Ping only'' - Sean Connery.
Dave Saxton
Supporter

Post by Dave Saxton »