Best unknown tales from WW2 naval history

From the Washington Naval Treaty to the end of the Second World War.
jrsteven00

Best unknown tales from WW2 naval history

Post by jrsteven00 »

I've got a challenge.
What are the best unknown stories from World War II?
I'm particularly interested navy stories.

I'm referring to stories like Hampton Side's book "Ghost Soldiers" about the Ranger raid on the Cabanatuan POW camp in the Philippines. Few people knew about that story until he wrote that book. Sides discovered the tale while talking to WW2 veterans at the VFW hall where he lives in Santa Fe, NM. Or the fight by Taffy 3's jeep carriers and DE's to turn back the Japanese battlefleet at Leyte Gulf-- described in James D. Hornfischer's "The Last Stand of the Tin Can Sailors." And the mystery of what happened between the HMAs Sydney and KMS Kormorran off the west coast of Australia.

Are there other unknown stories lurking out there? I'm an American, but I earned a masters degree in WW2 British battleships at the Univ. of Edinburgh, so I'm also interested on Royal Navy stories.
Why am I asking?
I'm a writer looking for unknown stories to pitch as article and book proposals. After a several year break from writing about naval history, I want to get back to this topic.

Please post any names, leads, fragments or rumors that you’ve heard or read. There’s still so much WW2 history that needs to be told.

Thanks,
J. Stevenson
lwd

Re: Best unknown tales from WW2 naval history

Post by lwd »

The battle off Samar is hardly unknown. If you are looking into the nooks and crannys Google "Greenland Patrol" and/or "German weather station arctic". Again not unknown but certainly not widely known. There's also a book out I believe on the fairly regular flights from Britain to Sweden during the war. Not sure if I'd know much if anything about these if I didn't have relatives involved.
Gerard Heimann
Supporter

Post by Gerard Heimann »

jrsteven00

Post by jrsteven00 »