CV Charles de Gaulle´s propellers

Propulsion systems, machinery, turbines, boilers, propellers, fuel consumption, etc.
Karl Heidenreich

CV Charles de Gaulle´s propellers

Post by Karl Heidenreich »

I was reading this weekend that in the year 2000 the new French CVN Charles De Gaulle suffered from the breaking of a screw of one of her propellers, which was replaced by a unit of former CV Clemenceau which limit her speed to 25 knots until an american company built a new propeller for her.
Why something like that happened? Cavitaton?

Best regards.
An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile, hoping it will eat him last.
Sir Winston Churchill
Hartmann10

Post by Hartmann10 »

Hello Karl (hola¡¡) :D .
I am by no means an expert, but I think that the propeller shaft was broken because the final displacement was very superior to the initial and this produced a excesive stress in the shaft, (probably by cavitation I don´t know), and producing a crack which broke down all the shaft.
I hope something like Foeth can help you more correctly than I can.
Best regards :wink:
ostriker

Re: CV Charles de Gaulle´s propellers

Post by ostriker »

Karl Heidenreich wrote:I was reading this weekend that in the year 2000 the new French CVN Charles De Gaulle suffered from the breaking of a screw of one of her propellers, which was replaced by a unit of former CV Clemenceau which limit her speed to 25 knots until an american company built a new propeller for her.
Why something like that happened? Cavitaton?
Hi Karl.

It is very simple. The two propeller build by a french company were build with a reduction of budget. I don't kow how to translate this, but this aircraft carrier is a symbol of the french army forfeiture for the last twenty years.

In fact, after a study, it seems that some air bubble were inside the two propeller, obviously they became more breakable. And this is what happened.